---
title: UK facilities management & contract catering media reputation tracker – H1
  2026
canonical_url: https://www.omniscan.ai/benchmarks/uk-fm-contract-catering-2026-h1
type: dataset
publisher: Omniscan
sector: UK Facilities Management & Contract Catering
period: H1 2026
coverage_start: '2026-01-01'
coverage_end: '2026-06-30'
date_published: '2026-09-01'
last_updated: '2026-09-01'
organisations: 6
articles_analysed: 903
mentions: 593
data_download: https://www.omniscan.ai/benchmarks/uk-fm-contract-catering-2026-h1/data.json
summary: Compass Group had the highest average monthly share of coverage (33.1%) among
  6 providers in UK earned media from 1 January 2026 to 30 June 2026, ahead of Mitie
  (23.9%) and Sodexo (21.0%).
---

# UK facilities management & contract catering media reputation tracker: H1 2026 (1 January 2026–30 June 2026)

> Compass Group had the highest average monthly share of coverage (33.1%) among 6 providers in UK earned media from 1 January 2026 to 30 June 2026, ahead of Mitie (23.9%) and Sodexo (21.0%). Compass Group had the most favourable net tone (+76). Omniscan analysed 903 articles containing 593 mentions of the providers tracked.

Interactive version: https://www.omniscan.ai/benchmarks/uk-fm-contract-catering-2026-h1

## UK Facilities Management & Contract Catering ranking by share of coverage, H1 2026

| Rank | Organisation | Average monthly share of coverage | Mentions | Positive | Neutral | Negative | Net tone |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 1 | Compass Group | 33.1% | 192 | 81% | 14% | 5% | +76 |
| 2 | Mitie | 23.9% | 144 | 66% | 19% | 15% | +51 |
| 3 | Sodexo | 21.0% | 124 | 69% | 8% | 23% | +47 |
| 4 | ISS UK | 8.2% | 50 | 54% | 6% | 40% | +14 |
| 5 | Aramark UK | 7.8% | 47 | 30% | 11% | 59% | −30 |
| 6 | OCS | 6.0% | 36 | 72% | 6% | 22% | +50 |

## Monthly share of coverage, UK Facilities Management & Contract Catering

| Organisation | January 2026 | February 2026 | March 2026 | April 2026 | May 2026 | June 2026 |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Compass Group | 17.6% | 52.5% | 31.2% | 26.7% | 40.6% | 29.7% |
| Mitie | 36.3% | 20.0% | 10.1% | 16.7% | 19.8% | 40.5% |
| Sodexo | 18.6% | 16.3% | 27.5% | 31.1% | 20.8% | 11.7% |
| ISS UK | 0.0% | 5.0% | 19.3% | 11.1% | 5.9% | 8.1% |
| Aramark UK | 18.6% | 3.8% | 8.3% | 7.8% | 2.0% | 6.3% |
| OCS | 8.8% | 2.5% | 3.7% | 6.7% | 10.9% | 3.6% |

## Providers in detail

### Compass Group

**Compass leads as results and contracts reshape coverage**

Compass Group ranked 1st of 6 by average monthly share of coverage (33.1%) in the UK Facilities Management & Contract Catering benchmark for H1 2026, with 192 mentions and a net tone of +76.

It began in fourth place in January at 17.6%, when coverage included Company of Cooks’ £2.5m Royal Aeronautical Society contract and Medirest’s hospital-meals partnership with Sophie’s Legacy. February brought a rise to 52.5% and first place, alongside the first-quarter update, the seven-year Heathrow contract and the revised net-zero target. Compass remained first in March at 31.2%, with stories spanning the £11.5m Dynamic Earth contract, the RHS Wisley win, The Learning Loft and Levy’s £100m Jockey Club partnership. It moved to second in April at 26.7%, while contract and leadership coverage included the RAF Museum London appointment, the Edgbaston renewal and James Lester’s appointment. May returned Compass to first place at 40.6%, as first-half results and the upgraded profit-growth outlook dominated its coverage. Visibility peaked in February 2026 at 52.5%, compared with 17.6% in January 2026. January 2026: Company of Cooks secured a three-year, £2.5m Royal Aeronautical Society contract — Facilitate Magazine. February 2026: Compass revised its net-zero target from 2030 to 2040, extending it across the full value chain — BusinessGreen. Compass Group reported robust North American trading in its first-quarter update and plans to change its listing currency from sterling to US dollars from 1 April. The group said the move would align its share price with its reporting currency and reduce foreign-exchange volatility.

Key messages:

- Visibility peaked in February 2026 at 52.5%, compared with 17.6% in January 2026.
- January 2026: Company of Cooks secured a three-year, £2.5m Royal Aeronautical Society contract — Facilitate Magazine.
- Compass Group reported robust North American trading in its first-quarter update and plans to change its listing currency from sterling to US dollars from 1 April. The group said the move would align its share price with its reporting currency and reduce foreign-exchange volatility.
- Compass Group purchasing arm Foodbuy has launched ProcurED to provide procurement services to education organisations operating in-house catering. The division extends Foodbuy's buying power and services into the education market.
- Compass Group-owned contract caterer Vacherin will appoint managing director Phil Roker as chairman, with operations director Tom Rule succeeding him as managing director. The business plans to pursue growth through areas including delivered-in production and coffee culture.
- Compassion in World Farming's Better Chicken Commitment scorecard reported that Compass Group had made less than 10% progress in transitioning to slower-growing chicken breeds, reporting 0% transition. The report frames breed transition as a key animal-welfare challenge for food businesses.

Leading themes:

- Trading & Results: 26.6% of Compass Group's coverage (theme index 2.27, net tone +76)
- Contract Wins & Renewals: 25.5% of Compass Group's coverage (theme index 0.87, net tone +88)
- Leadership & Strategy: 20.3% of Compass Group's coverage (theme index 1.73, net tone +79)

Notable positive coverage:

- 13 January 2026, thecaterer.com: [Company of Cooks secures £2.5m deal with Royal Aeronautical Society](https://www.thecaterer.com/news/company-of-cooks-secures-25m-deal-with-royal-aeronautical-society). Compass Group-owned Company of Cooks has secured a three-year, £2.5m contract to provide hospitality and catering at the Royal Aeronautical Society's No.4 Hamilton Place in London. The contract covers events, the members' lounge and food and drink services.
- 5 February 2026, investorschronicle.co.uk: [Compass Group doubles down on M&A](https://www.investorschronicle.co.uk/content/662bf62a-0271-4b70-b5c9-9c7f45c73f06). Compass Group reported robust North American trading in its first-quarter update and plans to change its listing currency from sterling to US dollars from 1 April. The group said the move would align its share price with its reporting currency and reduce foreign-exchange volatility.
- 18 February 2026, facilitatemagazine.com: [Foodbuy Group sets up ProcurED for education sector](https://www.facilitatemagazine.com/2026/02/18/foodbuy-group-sets-procured-education-sector). Compass Group purchasing arm Foodbuy has launched ProcurED to provide procurement services to education organisations operating in-house catering. The division extends Foodbuy's buying power and services into the education market.

Notable negative coverage:

- 12 March 2026, foodservicefootprint.com: [Chick 'n' mix](https://foodservicefootprint.com/chick-n-mix/). Compassion in World Farming's Better Chicken Commitment scorecard reported that Compass Group had made less than 10% progress in transitioning to slower-growing chicken breeds, reporting 0% transition. The report frames breed transition as a key animal-welfare challenge for food businesses.
- 20 February 2026, investorschronicle.co.uk: [Copper mining, Compass & Magnum Ice Cream](https://www.investorschronicle.co.uk/content/9a61ca13-7c11-4aeb-8b41-42990c6d3dee). Investors' Chronicle discusses Compass Group's recent difficulties and calls for a modest reassessment of its strategic priorities.
- 18 May 2026, belfasttelegraph.co.uk: [Compass informs catering staff at Ulster University of ‘voluntary options to reduce hours’ over summer](https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/compass-informs-catering-staff-at-ulster-university-of-voluntary-options-to-reduce-hours-over-summer/a/151708023.html). Compass has told catering workers at Ulster University campuses in Northern Ireland about voluntary options to reduce their summer hours and pay. The discussions follow Ulster University's stated financial pressures and planned job cuts.

- [Compass Group deep dive](https://www.omniscan.ai/benchmarks/uk-fm-contract-catering-2026-h1?entity=compassgroup&view=deep-dive)
- [Compass Group PDF report](https://www.omniscan.ai/benchmarks/uk-fm-contract-catering-2026-h1/reports/compassgroup.pdf)

### Mitie

**Mitie ranks second after contracts, results and takeover coverage**

Mitie ranked 2nd of 6 by average monthly share of coverage (23.9%) in the UK Facilities Management & Contract Catering benchmark for H1 2026, with 144 mentions and a net tone of +51.

January’s contract-led agenda included the Asda security award, TfL cleaning deal and Imperial College London appointment, alongside reporting on third-quarter growth. March shifted towards employment issues surrounding the transfer of Asda security workers, while Mitie also launched a supplier sustainability charter. April and May broadened the profile through record full-year trading figures, Nordic acquisitions and contracts with NHS, security and engineering customers. June produced the period’s highest volume and share, with full-year results covered alongside AWE water-network work, clean-energy contracts and a Climate X partnership. Visibility peaked in June 2026 at 40.5%, compared with 10.1% in March 2026. January 2026: Mitie won a multi-year security contract covering more than 1,100 Asda stores — Facilitate Magazine. February 2026: share fell 16.3 points to 20.0% and rank moved from first to second; stories included the five-year Co-op security extension and reported planning for Phil Bentley’s successor. April 2026: share rose 6.6 points to 16.7% and rank improved to third; stories included record FY26 trading figures and the acquisitions of El Team Vest and ABC Elektro. March 2026: Mitie launched a Sustainability and Social Value Charter for suppliers — Facilitate Magazine. April 2026: Mitie reported record FY26 revenue and approximately £6bn of contract wins, renewals and extensions — FMJ.

Key messages:

- Visibility peaked in June 2026 at 40.5%, compared with 10.1% in March 2026.
- January 2026: Mitie won a multi-year security contract covering more than 1,100 Asda stores — Facilitate Magazine.
- Mitie has secured a five-year TfL cleaning and associated-services contract beginning on 1 April. It covers trains, stations, offices and other TfL sites, with more than 2,000 cleaning staff deployed.
- Imperial College London has appointed Mitie to provide cleaning services under a five-year contract starting in February. Mitie replaces Bidvest Noonan, with existing cleaning staff expected to transfer under TUPE.
- Mitie reported FY26 revenue growth of about 11% to £5.65bn and operating-profit growth of roughly 12% despite employer-cost and contract-loss headwinds. The group cited a larger bidding pipeline, major UK contract awards, Marlowe integration and investment in AI-led services.
- Mitie's FY26 trading update reported record revenue of approximately £5.65bn, operating profit of at least £260m and around £6bn in contract wins, renewals and extensions. It also highlighted the completed Marlowe acquisition and a £31bn bidding pipeline entering FY27.

Leading themes:

- Contract Wins & Renewals: 35.4% of Mitie's coverage (theme index 1.38, net tone +78)
- Trading & Results: 25.0% of Mitie's coverage (theme index 1.81, net tone +83)
- Workforce, Pay & Industrial Relations: 10.4% of Mitie's coverage (theme index 0.85, net tone −33)

Notable positive coverage:

- 8 January 2026, facilitatemagazine.com: [Mitie on board with TfL for five-year cleaning deal](https://www.facilitatemagazine.com/2026/01/08/mitie-board-tfl-five-year-cleaning-deal). Mitie has secured a five-year TfL cleaning and associated-services contract beginning on 1 April. It covers trains, stations, offices and other TfL sites, with more than 2,000 cleaning staff deployed.
- 19 January 2026, facilitatemagazine.com: [Imperial College London appoints Mitie for five-year cleaning deal](https://www.facilitatemagazine.com/2026/01/19/imperial-college-london-appoints-mitie-five-year-cleaning-deal). Imperial College London has appointed Mitie to provide cleaning services under a five-year contract starting in February. Mitie replaces Bidvest Noonan, with existing cleaning staff expected to transfer under TUPE.
- 21 January 2026, facilitatemagazine.com: [Mitie wins a multi-year security deal with Asda](https://www.facilitatemagazine.com/2026/01/21/mitie-wins-multi-year-security-deal-asda). Mitie has won a multi-year contract to provide security across more than 1,100 Asda stores in the UK. More than 2,000 employees will transfer to Mitie under TUPE.

Notable negative coverage:

- 9 February 2026, bbc.co.uk: [HMP Millsike director replaced after less than a year](https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/c77el2176z8o). Mitie has replaced the director of HMP Millsike less than a year after the prison opened, following watchdog concerns about safety and security. A new permanent director is due to take over in June.
- 27 June 2026, inews.co.uk: [MPs' bodyguards sent to work 'without stab vests'](https://inews.co.uk/news/politics/mps-bodyguards-sent-to-work-without-stab-vests-4608144). Unite has lodged a formal grievance alleging that Mitie security staff protecting at-risk MPs lacked stab vests, appropriate vetting and adequate rest arrangements. Mitie has agreed to introduce stab vests while discussions over wider workforce concerns continue.
- 11 June 2026, theguardian.com: [Home Office contractor investigates claims of staff racism and hate speech](https://www.theguardian.com/business/2026/jun/11/mitie-home-office-immigration-contractor-investigating-claims-staff-racism). Mitie is investigating whistleblower allegations that staff working on Home Office immigration-removal and deportation contracts made racist, antisemitic, Islamophobic and otherwise abusive comments or social-media engagements. Mitie said it has no place for discrimination and investigates allegations thoroughly.

- [Mitie deep dive](https://www.omniscan.ai/benchmarks/uk-fm-contract-catering-2026-h1?entity=mitie&view=deep-dive)
- [Mitie PDF report](https://www.omniscan.ai/benchmarks/uk-fm-contract-catering-2026-h1/reports/mitie.pdf)

### Sodexo

**Contract Wins & Renewals shaped Sodexo's media profile during H1 2026**

Sodexo ranked 3rd of 6 by average monthly share of coverage (21.0%) in the UK Facilities Management & Contract Catering benchmark for H1 2026, with 124 mentions and a net tone of +47.

Sodexo was second in January at 18.6%; stories included contract and leadership developments. Its share fell to 16.3% in February, placing it third. March brought a rise to 27.5% and second place; stories ranged from the Leyland Trucks renewal and hospital restaurant investment to the Anna Haugh partnership and lower-emission hospital menus. Sodexo reached first place in April at 31.1%, its highest measured share, while stories covered first-half results, the Prestige Purchasing acquisition and several major extensions. Its share then fell to 20.8% in May, when it placed second; developments included the George Watson’s College win, Wallace Collection renewal and workforce recognition. June’s 11.7% share placed Sodexo third, with stories spanning sustainability and workforce initiatives alongside a new Stoke diagnostics-centre contract. Visibility peaked in April 2026 at 31.1%, compared with 11.7% in June 2026. January 2026: Sodexo Live! February 2026: share fell 2.3 points to 16.3% and rank moved from second to third; stories included Heritage Portfolio’s five-year Hopetoun House extension and Sodexo’s relaunched Culinary Academy. March 2026: Sodexo formed a culinary partnership with chef Anna Haugh — The Caterer. April 2026: Sodexo secured a two-year, £16m-a-year extension at HM Naval Base Portsmouth — FMJ.

Key messages:

- Visibility peaked in April 2026 at 31.1%, compared with 11.7% in June 2026.
- January 2026: Sodexo Live!
- Sodexo Live! UK & Ireland has appointed Steven Cova as divisional operations director for sports and stadia. The business says the appointment will support growth, partnerships and operations across its UK sports-and-venue catering portfolio.
- Heritage Portfolio, Sodexo Live!'s specialist events-catering division, secured a five-year extension at Hopetoun House near Edinburgh. The renewal continues a catering and hospitality relationship of more than 20 years and includes refurbishment of the Stables Kitchen café.
- Sodexo Live! has secured a six-year extension of its catering partnership with the Royal Academy of Arts in London following a competitive tender. The contract covers the museum's cafés, bars, member spaces and event catering.
- Rob Jepson has been appointed chief executive of Sodexo UK & Ireland Health & Care, succeeding Philip Leigh. Sodexo's Health & Care business employs more than 7,500 people delivering food and FM services.

Leading themes:

- Contract Wins & Renewals: 27.4% of Sodexo's coverage (theme index 0.97, net tone +94)
- Workforce, Pay & Industrial Relations: 16.1% of Sodexo's coverage (theme index 1.51, net tone +15)
- Leadership & Strategy: 14.5% of Sodexo's coverage (theme index 1, net tone +100)

Notable positive coverage:

- 5 January 2026, thecaterer.com: [Sodexo Live! appoints new director for sports and stadia division](https://www.thecaterer.com/news/sodexo-live-appoints-new-director-for-sports-and-stadia-division). Sodexo Live! UK & Ireland has appointed Steven Cova as divisional operations director for sports and stadia. The business says the appointment will support growth, partnerships and operations across its UK sports-and-venue catering portfolio.
- 12 January 2026, thecaterer.com: [Sodexo Live! gains Edinburgh Zoo catering contract](https://www.thecaterer.com/news/sodexo-live-wins-edinburgh-zoo-catering-contract). Sodexo Live! has won the catering and hospitality contract for Edinburgh Zoo, operated through its Heritage Portfolio brand. Compass Group's Restaurant Associates previously provided catering services at the site.
- 12 January 2026, facilitatemagazine.com: [Sodexo Live! gains catering deal with Edinburgh Zoo](https://www.facilitatemagazine.com/2026/01/12/sodexo-live-gains-catering-deal-edinburgh-zoo). Sodexo Live! has secured Edinburgh Zoo's catering and hospitality contract, with Heritage Portfolio delivering the operation. The deal expands Sodexo Live!'s Scottish visitor-attraction catering presence.

Notable negative coverage:

- 14 April 2026, bbc.com: ['Bold as brass' - My brother's killer brags on TikTok about partying in jail](https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/clyxxdljdx8o). The article examines prisoners' illegal mobile-phone use and social-media posts at HMP Addiewell, a Scottish prison operated by Sodexo Justice. The operator says it treats illicit items seriously and deploys measures to prevent them entering the prison.
- 10 April 2026, wsj.com: [Sodexo Shares Tumble on Earnings Miss, Lowered Outlook](https://www.wsj.com/business/retail/sodexo-shares-tumble-on-earnings-miss-lowered-outlook-bef6eb88). Sodexo shares fell after the group reported weaker-than-expected first-half earnings and reduced its outlook. Underlying operating profit was reported as 32% below the prior-year period and 19% below consensus.
- 2 April 2026, bbc.com: [Illegally-filmed videos show prisoners partying and taking drugs in jail](https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c3w348vgx29o). Videos allegedly filmed at HMP Addiewell showed prisoners partying, using drugs and possessing illicit mobile phones. The privately run Scottish prison is operated through Sodexo Justice Services, which said it reviews practices and treats illicit items seriously.

- [Sodexo deep dive](https://www.omniscan.ai/benchmarks/uk-fm-contract-catering-2026-h1?entity=sodexo&view=deep-dive)
- [Sodexo PDF report](https://www.omniscan.ai/benchmarks/uk-fm-contract-catering-2026-h1/reports/sodexo.pdf)

### ISS UK

**ISS visibility peaked in March; later subject mix broadened**

ISS UK ranked 4th of 6 by average monthly share of coverage (8.2%) in the UK Facilities Management & Contract Catering benchmark for H1 2026, with 50 mentions and a net tone of +14.

Its visibility was highly concentrated: coverage rose from none in January to 5.0% and fourth place in February, then reached 19.3% and third place in March. February stories included the five-year FCDO contract, full-year results and the planned transfer of workers from ISS-supported BT services. March combined extensive reporting on historic minimum-wage underpayments with the Bank of England contract and the expanded Virgin Media O2 agreement. Share then fell to 11.1% and fourth place in April, when the agenda broadened through the Fulham Road Collaborative hospital-services renewal, the Advanced Workplace Associates partnership and Greg Nicoll's appointment. May brought a further decline to 5.9% and fifth place alongside stories on the West Sussex school-catering award, public-sector leadership appointments and first-quarter growth. ISS recovered to 8.1% and fourth place in June; stories included Livv's Jupiter Asset Management contract, a financial-services reorganisation and the non-renewal of a UK healthcare contract. Across the period, the profile shifted from a March workforce-enforcement concentration towards a wider mix of contracts, leadership, workplace strategy, catering and corporate performance. Visibility peaked in March 2026 at 19.3%, compared with 0% in January 2026. February 2026: ISS won a five-year FCDO facilities-management contract worth more than £34 million annually, reported by Facilitate Magazine.

Key messages:

- Visibility peaked in March 2026 at 19.3%, compared with 0% in January 2026.
- February 2026: ISS won a five-year FCDO facilities-management contract worth more than £34 million annually, reported by Facilitate Magazine.
- ISS UK & Ireland has appointed Marlies Hoogeboom as Segment Director for Financial Services and reorganised its former Office & Production segment. The move consolidates Barclays-related activity and creates separate Financial Services and Business & Industry segments.
- ISS UK & Ireland has won a four-year integrated facilities-services contract with the Bank of England, with an option for a further year. ISS will provide cleaning, front-of-house, mailroom and workplace services across several UK sites.
- ISS has been awarded a seven-year West Sussex County Council school-catering contract worth about £11.7 million per year. It will provide around 25,000 meals a day to primary schools, using its FEED brand with apetito.
- ISS was among employers named in the government's minimum-wage enforcement action, affecting 11,598 workers. ISS said historic errors in pay calculations between 2017 and 2023 were unintentional and that affected current and former workers had been contacted for remediation.

Leading themes:

- Workforce, Pay & Industrial Relations: 36.0% of ISS UK's coverage (theme index 3.76, net tone −89)
- Contract Wins & Renewals: 34.0% of ISS UK's coverage (theme index 1.24, net tone +88)
- Leadership & Strategy: 12.0% of ISS UK's coverage (theme index 0.81, net tone +67)

Notable positive coverage:

- 15 June 2026, fmj.co.uk: [ISS UK & Ireland strengthens country leadership team with Financial Services segment director appointment](https://www.fmj.co.uk/iss-uk-ireland-strengthens-country-leadership-team-with-financial-services-segment-director-appointment/). ISS UK & Ireland has appointed Marlies Hoogeboom as Segment Director for Financial Services and reorganised its former Office & Production segment. The move consolidates Barclays-related activity and creates separate Financial Services and Business & Industry segments.
- 27 April 2026, globenewswire.com: [ISS extends and expands contract with the Fulham Road Collaborative in the UK](https://www.globenewswire.com/news-release/2026/04/27/3281269/0/en/iss-extends-and-expands-contract-with-the-fulham-road-collaborative-in-the-uk.html). ISS has extended and expanded its integrated facilities-services contract with the Fulham Road Collaborative, covering Chelsea and Westminster Hospital and The Royal Marsden sites. The five-year UK contract, worth about DKK100m annually, begins in Q2 2026 and includes cleaning, security, portering and catering.
- 22 June 2026, fmj.co.uk: [ISS' Livv business takes IFS deal at Jupiter Asset Management's global HQ](https://www.fmj.co.uk/iss-livv-business-takes-ifs-deal-at-jupiter-asset-managements-global-hq/). ISS workplace-experience brand Livv has won a three-year integrated facilities-services contract at Jupiter Asset Management's London headquarters. The scope includes workplace management, cleaning, engineering, supply-chain management and sustainability advice.

Notable negative coverage:

- 20 March 2026, gloucestershirelive.co.uk: [South West firms named and shamed for underpaying staff](https://www.gloucestershirelive.co.uk/news/regional-news/south-west-firms-named-shamed-10877895). ISS Mediclean and ISS Facility Services were named on the government’s minimum-wage enforcement list for historic underpayments affecting thousands of workers. ISS said a review identified unintentional errors in paid-time calculations and that remediation and compliance measures had been completed.
- 19 March 2026, mirror.co.uk: [Hundreds of firms including famous brands named and shamed for underpaying staff](https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/politics/hundreds-firms-including-famous-brands-36889036). ISS Mediclean and ISS Facility Services were the two largest cases in a UK minimum-wage naming round, with more than £2.26m owed to 11,958 workers. Sodexo was also named for underpaying 190 workers by £14,670.
- 19 March 2026, thesun.co.uk: [Over 60,000 workers get £7.3million after bosses break minimum wage rules](https://www.thesun.co.uk/money/38558145/workers-owed-companies-break-minimum-wage-rule/). ISS was among employers named in the government's minimum-wage enforcement action, affecting 11,598 workers. ISS said historic errors in pay calculations between 2017 and 2023 were unintentional and that affected current and former workers had been contacted for remediation.

- [ISS UK deep dive](https://www.omniscan.ai/benchmarks/uk-fm-contract-catering-2026-h1?entity=issuk&view=deep-dive)
- [ISS UK PDF report](https://www.omniscan.ai/benchmarks/uk-fm-contract-catering-2026-h1/reports/issuk.pdf)

### Aramark UK

**Aramark UK visibility swung as regulation gave way to operations**

Aramark UK ranked 5th of 6 by average monthly share of coverage (7.8%) in the UK Facilities Management & Contract Catering benchmark for H1 2026, with 47 mentions and a net tone of −30.

March coverage returned to the Entier dispute when the Competition Appeal Tribunal rejected Aramark’s late challenge, while June brought permission to contest that deadline ruling in Scotland. Wilson Vale’s partnership with The Gut Health Clinic added a food-and-nutrition strategy story during the low-volume May period. June also included Aramark UK’s reported £175 million of independently verified social value and scrutiny of a €30,000 payment involving Children’s Health Ireland. January 2026: the CMA ordered Aramark to divest Entier over offshore-catering competition concerns, reported by Reuters. February 2026: share fell 14.8 percentage points to 3.8% and rank moved from second to fifth; the measured coverage comprised explicitly contextual mentions in Alton Towers hot-dog pricing reports. March 2026: share rose 4.5 percentage points to 8.3% while rank stayed fifth; stories included the tribunal proceedings over Aramark’s late Entier appeal. January 2026: Wilson Vale won the full catering contract for St Cross College Oxford, reported by Facilitate Magazine. Aramark-owned Wilson Vale has secured a catering contract with St John's Beaumont School in Berkshire, serving up to 338 pupils, staff and visitors. Contract value and duration were not disclosed. Children’s Health Ireland repaid a €30,000 payment from Aramark that became the subject of Public Accounts Committee scrutiny. Aramark said the payment was a final reconciliation of concession obligations disrupted by Covid restrictions, rather than funding for a staff Christmas party.

Key messages:

- January 2026: the CMA ordered Aramark to divest Entier over offshore-catering competition concerns, reported by Reuters.
- Wilson Vale has been appointed as catering partner for St Cross College, Oxford, from January 2026. The contract covers the dining hall, student café and bar, plus hospitality and events catering; Wilson Vale is part of Aramark UK.
- Aramark-owned Wilson Vale has secured a catering contract with St John's Beaumont School in Berkshire, serving up to 338 pupils, staff and visitors. Contract value and duration were not disclosed.
- Aramark UK brand Wilson Vale has partnered with The Gut Health Clinic to add specialist dietitian input to its food and nutrition offer. The collaboration may inform menus, tastings, education and workplace nutrition sessions.
- Children’s Health Ireland repaid a €30,000 payment from Aramark that became the subject of Public Accounts Committee scrutiny. Aramark said the payment was a final reconciliation of concession obligations disrupted by Covid restrictions, rather than funding for a staff Christmas party.
- Aramark’s appeal against the CMA order requiring it to unwind its acquisition of offshore caterer Entier was rejected after its legal team filed a day late. The CMA had found the deal risked materially reducing competition among offshore catering providers.

Leading themes:

- M&A & Ownership: 55.3% of Aramark UK's coverage (theme index 17.77, net tone −81)
- Contract Wins & Renewals: 14.9% of Aramark UK's coverage (theme index 0.51, net tone +100)
- Other: 6.4% of Aramark UK's coverage (theme index 1.24, net tone +33)

Notable positive coverage:

- 26 January 2026, facilitatemagazine.com: [Wilson Vale cooks up deal with Oxford College](https://www.facilitatemagazine.com/2026/01/26/wilson-vale-cooks-deal-oxford-college). Wilson Vale has won St Cross College Oxford's full catering contract from January 2026, covering dining, café, bar, hospitality and events. Wilson Vale is part of Aramark UK.
- 26 January 2026, hospitalityandcateringnews.com: [Wilson Vale Joins St Cross College, Oxford, as New Catering Partner - Hospitality & Catering News](https://www.hospitalityandcateringnews.com/2026/01/wilson-vale-joins-st-cross-college-oxford-as-new-catering-partner/). Wilson Vale has been appointed as catering partner for St Cross College, Oxford, from January 2026. The contract covers the dining hall, student café and bar, plus hospitality and events catering; Wilson Vale is part of Aramark UK.
- 24 April 2026, thecaterer.com: [Wilson Vale wins catering partnership with St John's Beaumont School](https://www.thecaterer.com/news/wilson-vale-wins-catering-partnership-with-st-johns-beaumont-school). Aramark-owned Wilson Vale has won a catering partnership with St John's Beaumont School in Old Windsor. It will provide menus for pupils, staff and visitors at the preparatory school.

Notable negative coverage:

- 15 January 2026, reuters.com: [UK watchdog orders Aramark to divest Entier after merger probe](https://www.reuters.com/legal/litigation/uk-watchdog-orders-aramark-divest-entier-after-merger-probe-2026-01-15/). The CMA ordered Aramark to divest offshore caterer Entier after finding its acquisition would substantially reduce competition for UK North Sea platform catering and FM services. The regulator said the transaction combined two of the three main suppliers in the market.
- 9 June 2026, irishtimes.com: [Hospital employee flagged that €30,000 Aramark payment to CHI could be reviewed by watchdog](https://www.irishtimes.com/politics/2026/06/09/hospital-employee-flagged-that-30000-aramark-payment-to-chi-could-be-reviewed-by-watchdog/). Children’s Health Ireland repaid a €30,000 payment from Aramark that became the subject of Public Accounts Committee scrutiny. Aramark said the payment was a final reconciliation of concession obligations disrupted by Covid restrictions, rather than funding for a staff Christmas party.
- 22 January 2026, cityam.com: [Mark Kleinman: Reeves' ISA reforms pose more risk than reward](https://www.cityam.com/mark-kleinman-reevess-isa-reforms-pose-more-risk-than-reward/). The article notes that the CMA ordered Aramark to divest Entier after finding their combination could harm competition in offshore catering for oil-rig workers. The order followed Aramark's acquisition of Entier.

- [Aramark UK deep dive](https://www.omniscan.ai/benchmarks/uk-fm-contract-catering-2026-h1?entity=aramarkuk&view=deep-dive)
- [Aramark UK PDF report](https://www.omniscan.ai/benchmarks/uk-fm-contract-catering-2026-h1/reports/aramarkuk.pdf)

### OCS

**OCS ranked fourth amid marked monthly variation**

OCS ranked 6th of 6 by average monthly share of coverage (6.0%) in the UK Facilities Management & Contract Catering benchmark for H1 2026, with 36 mentions and a net tone of +50.

January coverage centred on security contracts with Morrisons and Tesco, alongside Steven Moore’s appointment to the S12 leadership committee. May combined the City Group Security acquisition with engineering leadership, hard-services strategy and industrial-relations reporting. January 2026: OCS won a three-year UK-wide Morrisons security contract covering stores, logistics and manufacturing sites, reported by Facilitate Magazine. February 2026: share fell 6.3 points to 2.5% and rank moved from fifth to sixth; stories included the launch of OCS Energy Services. March 2026: OCS completed its acquisition of Irish security firm Top Security, reported by Business Plus. May 2026: OCS acquired City Group Security, adding about 600 staff and canine-security capability, reported by FMJ. OCS has won a contract to operate and maintain the primary electrical substation at an unnamed major data-centre development. Its dedicated engineering team will provide 24/7 monitoring, maintenance, safety management and incident response. British Land has renewed and expanded OCS's UK soft-services contract to cover more than 50 sites, adding its eastern portfolio. Around 600 OCS colleagues will work on the combined estate, including 350 staff transferring under TUPE. GMB members at South London and Maudsley NHS Trust ended a three-day strike over OCS plans to cut cleaning and catering provision by 20%. The union alleges unfair dismissals and anti-union victimisation, and warns of legal action and further industrial action.

Key messages:

- January 2026: OCS won a three-year UK-wide Morrisons security contract covering stores, logistics and manufacturing sites, reported by Facilitate Magazine.
- OCS has acquired City Group Security, adding 600 colleagues and strengthening its UK security coverage, particularly in London and the South East. The deal adds in-house canine-security capability and expands OCS's presence in utilities, logistics, local government and education.
- OCS has won a contract to operate and maintain the primary electrical substation at an unnamed major data-centre development. Its dedicated engineering team will provide 24/7 monitoring, maintenance, safety management and incident response.
- British Land has renewed and expanded OCS's UK soft-services contract to cover more than 50 sites, adding its eastern portfolio. Around 600 OCS colleagues will work on the combined estate, including 350 staff transferring under TUPE.
- GMB members at South London and Maudsley NHS Trust ended a three-day strike over OCS plans to cut cleaning and catering provision by 20%. The union alleges unfair dismissals and anti-union victimisation, and warns of legal action and further industrial action.
- A disabled passenger alleged that he was left on an aircraft at Edinburgh Airport for an hour while awaiting wheelchair and ambulift assistance. OCS provides the airport's assisted-travel service and was contacted for comment.

Leading themes:

- M&A & Ownership: 22.2% of OCS's coverage (theme index 3.54, net tone +100)
- Contract Wins & Renewals: 22.2% of OCS's coverage (theme index 0.78, net tone +100)
- Leadership & Strategy: 19.4% of OCS's coverage (theme index 1.37, net tone +86)

Notable positive coverage:

- 7 January 2026, facilitatemagazine.com: [OCS wins UK-wide security deal with Morrisons](https://www.facilitatemagazine.com/2026/01/07/ocs-wins-uk-wide-security-deal-morrisons). OCS has won a three-year UK-wide security-services contract for Morrisons covering stores, logistics and manufacturing sites. More than 1,000 colleagues will transfer to OCS and the deal will create more than 200 new security roles.
- 28 January 2026, facilitatemagazine.com: [OCS scoops security deal with Tesco in Scotland and Northern Ireland](https://www.facilitatemagazine.com/2026/01/28/ocs-scoops-security-deal-tesco-scotland-and-northern-ireland). OCS has won a Tesco security-services contract covering about 300 stores in Scotland and Northern Ireland, extending the companies' 19-year relationship. Around 300 Tesco security employees will transfer to OCS under TUPE.
- 19 March 2026, facilitatemagazine.com: [OCS finalises acquisition of Top Security](https://www.facilitatemagazine.com/2026/03/19/ocs-finalises-acquisition-top-security). OCS has completed its acquisition of Irish technology-led security firm Top Security. The deal expands OCS's monitoring, communications-resilience and alarm-receiving capabilities in Ireland.

Notable negative coverage:

- 8 May 2026, morningstaronline.co.uk: [Strikes against ‘savage’ NHS workforce cull ends with legal action warning](https://www.morningstaronline.co.uk/article/strikes-against-savage-nhs-workforce-cull-ends-legal-action-warning). GMB members at South London and Maudsley NHS Trust ended a three-day strike over OCS plans to cut cleaning and catering provision by 20%. The union alleges unfair dismissals and anti-union victimisation, and warns of legal action and further industrial action.
- 18 June 2026, edinburghlive.co.uk: [Raging disabled Edinburgh Airport passenger 'left stranded on plane for an hour'](https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/edinburgh-news/raging-disabled-edinburgh-airport-passenger-34146553). A disabled passenger alleged that he was left on an aircraft at Edinburgh Airport for an hour while awaiting wheelchair and ambulift assistance. OCS provides the airport's assisted-travel service and was contacted for comment.

- [OCS deep dive](https://www.omniscan.ai/benchmarks/uk-fm-contract-catering-2026-h1?entity=ocs&view=deep-dive)
- [OCS PDF report](https://www.omniscan.ai/benchmarks/uk-fm-contract-catering-2026-h1/reports/ocs.pdf)

## Methodology

- **Share of coverage**: an organisation's mentions divided by all mentions of the organisations tracked in the same sector that month, in UK earned media. It is the central measure of media visibility in Omniscan benchmarks. "Average monthly share" is the mean of the monthly shares across the reporting period.
- **Mention**: one article that covers an organisation, classified as positive, neutral or negative in tone. Articles are deduplicated, and an organisation's own websites and passing sponsorship name-checks are excluded, so only earned media counts.
- **Net tone**: positive mentions minus negative mentions, as a percentage of all mentions (range −100 to +100).
- **Themes**: every article is assigned to one of the sector's editorial themes. A theme index above 1 means the organisation is covered on that theme more than its peers are; below 1 means less.
- **Calculation**: every figure is computed directly from the classified articles; narrative summaries are checked against those figures.
- **Sources**: UK national and international, trade and specialist, regional and local, and aggregator and syndication earned media.

## Other UK Facilities Management & Contract Catering editions

- [UK facilities management & contract catering media reputation tracker – 2026 year to date](https://www.omniscan.ai/benchmarks/uk-fm-contract-catering-2026-ytd.md)
- [UK facilities management & contract catering media reputation tracker – July 2026](https://www.omniscan.ai/benchmarks/uk-fm-contract-catering-2026-07.md)
- [UK facilities management & contract catering media reputation tracker – August 2026](https://www.omniscan.ai/benchmarks/uk-fm-contract-catering-2026-08.md)
- [UK facilities management & contract catering media reputation tracker – September 2026](https://www.omniscan.ai/benchmarks/uk-fm-contract-catering-2026-09.md)
- [All Omniscan media benchmarks](https://www.omniscan.ai/benchmarks.md)

## How to cite

Omniscan, "UK facilities management & contract catering media reputation tracker", H1 2026 (1 January 2026–30 June 2026), published 1 September 2026. https://www.omniscan.ai/benchmarks/uk-fm-contract-catering-2026-h1
